Paediatric Observation Unit

Being launched in December 2019, the Paediatric Observation Unit is considered the latest medical service at Caritas Baby Hospital. It is also the first of its kind in Palestine. 

Observation units have evolved as a safe alternative to hospitalization, and their necessity arises from the fact that children are unable to communicate their symptoms; hence, the initial evaluation is unclear, and paediatric observation services allow for time to determine the need for hospitalization. Services provided at the POU can be applied to patients whose diagnosis, treatment, stabilization, and discharge can reasonably be expected within 23 hours.  

The most common clinical diseases treated at the POU are respiratory diseases such as asthma, laryngitis, and croup, mild infections including mild gastroenteritis, enteritis, and dehydration, in addition to seizures

Admission to the POU entails fast, easy and safe procedures. The unit offers sufficient medical and paramedical staff who observe children for a period prior to determining their illness or immediately admitting them to hospital, and ensure their least exposure to nosocomial infections.

وحدة مراقبة المرضى الأطفال

 

بافتتاحها في شهر ديسمبر 2019، تعتبر وحدة مراقبة المرضى الأطفال أحدث خدمة طبية في مستشفى كاريتاس للأطفال. كما أنها الأولى من نوعها في فلسطين. 

تطورت وحدات المراقبة كبديل آمن للاقامة المستشفى ونشأت ضرورتها نتيجة لعدم تمكن الأطفال من التعبير عن أعراضهم. لذا، توفر الخدمات المقدمة في هذه الوحدات الوقت الكافي لتحديد الحاجة للإدخال إلى المستشفى. وتقدم هذه الخدمات للمرضى الذين يتوقع تشخيصهم وعلاجهم واستقرار حالاتهم وخروجهم خلال 23 ساعة.

تشمل الأمراض السريرية الأكثر شيوعا التي يتم علاجها في وحدة مراقبة المرضى الأطفال أمراض الجهاز التنفسي مثل الربو والتهاب الحنجرة والخانوق والتهابات المعدة والأمعاء المعتدلة والجفاف بالاضافة الى التشنجات العصبية

إجراءات الإدخال إلى وحدة مراقبة المرضى الأطفال سريعة، سهلة وآمنة. وتحتوي الوحدة على طاقم طبي يشرف على مراقبة الأطفال لفترة من الوقت قبل تحديد مرضهم أو إدخالهم الفوري إلى المستشفى، وبذلك تجنب تعريضهم لعدوى المستشفيات.