Premature Births

A baby born before 37 weeks of pregnancy is considered premature. Premature births have a number of causes. About 4 out of 5 premature births occur due to issues that directly cause early labor and birth. Preterm birth is the leading cause of newborn mortality. However, advancements in neonatal and premature care have greatly increased the chances for survival even for the smallest of babies.
 
Preterm babies at Caritas Baby Hospital are cared for with the following medical services that contribute to diminishing the chances for possible future harm: 
  • Incubators: Premature babies are kept inside an incubator where they remain warm, grow faster and eventually recover. 
  • Monitoring the vital signs: Premature babies are connected to a device that monitors their blood pressure, heart rate, breathing and temperature. Babies suffering from breathing difficulties are also attached to a ventilator. 
  • The feeding tube: Preterm babies are normally attached to a feeding tube because they are too small to be breastfed. In later stages, the baby is supervised by the pathology and physiotherapy team, who cohesively train the baby to learn how to suck and feed and eventually accept the breast or bottle.   
  • Replenishing fluids: The neonatal and ICU teams will closely monitor the baby’s fluids, sodium and potassium levels to ensure they maintain normal range. If more fluids are needed, they are supplied intravenously.
  • Phototherapy: Babies suffering from jaundice are exposed to bilirubin lights for a certain period of time. This mechanism allows the baby’s body to break down excess bilirubin that could not be processed by the liver.

الولادة المبكرة

الولادة المبكرة تشمل الأطفال الذين يولدون قبل مرور 37 أسبوع على الحمل. نحو 4 من بين 5 ولادات مبكرة ناتجة عن مشاكل تؤدي بشكل مباشر إلى المخاض المبكر والولادة، وهذا النوع من الولادات يعتبر السبب الرئيسي وراء الوفيات بين الأطفال حديثي الولادة. لكن التطورات في العناية المقدمة لهذه الحالات عملت على رفع فرص نجاة الأطفال الخداج وحتى هؤلاء الأصغر حجماً. 
 
يعمل مستشفى كاريتاس للأطفال على توفير الخدمات الطبية التالية التي تقلل من نسبة تعريض حياة الأطفال الخداج للخطر:  
  • الحاضنات: يتم وضع الأطفال الخداج في حاضنة تعمل على المحافظة على دفئهم وتُمكِّنهم من النمو والتعافي.
  • مراقبة المؤشرات الحيوية: يتم شبك الأطفال الخداج بجهاز يعمل على مراقبة ضغط الدم وسرعة القلب والتنفس ودرجة حرارة الجسم. كما يتم شبك الأطفال الذين يعانون من صعوبات في التنفس إلى جهاز تنفس صناعي.
  • أنبوب التغذية: يتم عادةً شبك الأطفال الخداج بأنبوب تغذية بسبب حجمهم الصغير الذي لا يُمكِّنهم من الرضاعة بشكل طبيعي. في مراحل لاحقة، يقوم فريق قسم العلاج الطبيعي وأخصائية البلع ومشاكل الأكل معاً بتدريب الطفل على المص وشرب الحليب، وبالتالي الرضاعة إما من صدر أمه أو من زجاجة الحليب.
  • ملأ مخزون السوائل في الجسم: يقوم فريقي أقسام حديثي الولادة والعناية المركزة بمراقبة مستويات السوائل والصوديوم والبوتاسيوم في جسم الطفل لضمان حفاظها على معدلات طبيعية. وفي حال الحاجة إلى سوائل إضافية يتم تزويدها بالوريد. 
  • العلاج بالضوء: يتم وضع الأطفال الذين يعاونون من اليرقان تحت أضواء البيليروبين لفترة محددة من الوقت، مع ارتداء قناع واقي للعينين. هذه الآلية تسمح لجسم الطفل تحليل كمية البيليروبين الفائضة التي لم يعالجها الكبد.