Patient Safety

As part of the Palestinian healthcare system, Caritas Baby Hospital aspires to become a center of excellence for pediatric care, putting children’s well-being at the core of our approach.  Parents and their children are at the center of all our decisions and all our services, facilities and operations are designed to enhance a positive experience for the parents and quality health care for their children. Quality for us encompasses both clinical results and the high level of services provided to patients through the care continuum. To achieve such quality, it is crucial for our team to deliver great clinical outcomes, positive patient experience, and timely access to healthcare services. This is done through monitoring quality and infection control indicators, which include: compliance with hand hygiene, correct patient identification, medication safety and screening patients for multi-drug resistant bacteria upon admission. 

Patient Safety Friendly Hospital Initiative (PSFHI): 
A pillar of our patient safety work is the Patient Safety Friendly Hospital Initiative (PSFHI). Since CBH’s enrollment in this initiative in 2012, our team devoted much effort to creating a safe environment for our patients, which gradually transformed our hospital into a flagship in patient safety and quality assurance. After undergoing its second official inspection in November 2018 by the WHO and Palestinian Ministry of Health, CBH proudly became the first hospital in Palestine to achieve the third level of the PSFHI. 

At CBH, we work according to quality and patient safety standards and pediatric care requirements. Our Quality & Patient Safety Department is responsible for developing protocols and monitoring their effective implementation with the aim to promote a culture of patient safety, improve the quality of healthcare provided to all patients, and reduce any possible harm to them.
In addition to participating in developing policies and procedures in their respective departments, our staff recognizes patient safety as an integral job responsibility. We consequently encourage them to recognize and report medical or healthcare adverse events and potential risks to patient safety without judgment or placement of blame.  

In line with our committment to put patients at the centre of our work, their individual satisfaction with our services is the best measure of our success.  We empower patients and their families by being sensitive to their needs and dignity and by involving them in decisions about their health care. We promote open communication about medical adverse events which occur. We also tend to their suggestions through feedback received from surveys and questionnaires on a monthly basis.

سلامة المرضى

كجزء من نظام الرعاية الصحية الفلسطيني، يطمح مستشفى كاريتاس للأطفال أن يصبح مركز مميز للرعاية الطبية المقدمة للأطفال، وذلك بوضع سلامة الأطفال في صميم النهج الذي تبناه. عليه، يكون الأطفال وذويهم في محور جميع القرارات التي يتم اتخاذها، وكافة الخدمات والمرافق والعمليات مصممة لتعزيز تجربة إيجابية للأهل ورعاية صحية ذات جودة عالية لأطفالهم. في نظرنا، يتضمن مفهوم الجودة حصول المريض على نتائج ايجابية من العلاج ومستوى عال من الخدمات المقدمة للمرضى من خلال نظام الرعاية المستمرة. ومن أجل تحقيق هذا المستوى من الجودة، لا بد لفريق المستشفى تقديم خدمات طبية مميزة في الوقت المناسب وتوفير تجربة إيجابية للمريض.ويتحقق ذلك من خلال مراقبة مؤشرات الجودة وضبط العدوى، بما في ذلك الامتثال مع نظافة اليدين، تعريف سليم للمرضى، سلامة الأدوية وفحص المرضى للبكتيريا المقاومة للمضادات الحيوية المتعددة فور استقبالهم. 

مبادرة المستشفيات المراعية لسلامة المريض
تعتبر مبادرة المستشفيات المراعية لسلامة المريض من المقومات التي تضمن سلامة المريض. ومنذ التحاق مستشفى كاريتاس للأطفال في هذه المبادرة عام 2012، كرس فريق المستشفى جهوده لتأسيس بيئة آمنة للمرضى، وأصبح المستشفى المؤسسة الرائدة في تحقيق سلامة المريض وضمان جودة الخدمات. وبعد خضوع المستشفى لعملية التفتيش الرسمية الثانية في تشرين الثاني 2018 من قبل منظمة الصحة العالمية ووزارة الصحة الفلسطينية، أصبح مستشفى كاريتاس للأطفال المستشفى الأول في فلسطين الذي تمكن من إنجاز المستوى الثالث من مبادرة المستشفيات المراعية لسلامة المريض. 

يعمل مستشفى كاريتاس للأطفال وفقا لمعايير الجودة وسلامة المريض ومتطلبات توفير الرعاية الطبية للأطفال. وتتبنى دائرة ضمان الجودة وسلامة المريض مسؤولية تطوير إجراءات (بروتوكولات) ومراقبة تطبيقها الفعال، بهدف تعزيز ثقافة سلامة المريض، وتحسين جودة الرعاية الصحية المقدمة لجميع المرضى، وتقليل نسبة الأضرار التي قد تحل بهم. 

إلى جانب المشاركة في تطوير السياسات والإجراءات الخاصة بكل قسم، يدرك طاقم العمل في المستشفى بأن سلامة المريض هي مسؤولية في غاية الأهمية، ولذلك، يحرص المستشفى على تشجيع موظفيه على اكتشاف الحالات الطبية أو الرعاية الصحية السلبية والمخاطر التي قد تخل بسلامة المريض والتبليغ عنها من غير إصدار حكم أو إلقاء اللوم. 

 تماشيا مع التزامنا بجعل مرضانا محور اهتمامنا، نعتبر رضا كل مريض بخدماتنا أفضل قياس لنجاحنا. فنحن نعمل جاهدين على تمكين مرضانا وذويهم من خلال مراعاة احتياجاتهم وكرامتهم وإشراكهم في القرارات وثيقة الصلة برعايتهم الصحية. كما اننا نعزز الاتصال والتواصل المفتوح فيما يتعلق بالأخطاء الطبية، ونأخذ اقتراحاتهم بعين الاعتبار من خلال ردود الفعل التي نتلقاها عبر الاستقصاءات والاستمارات التي نجريها شهريا.