Facebook

The Hospital

Caritas Baby Hospital (CBH) was founded in 1953 by Father Ernst Schnydrig, a Swiss priest, in Bethlehem. Since 1963, it has been operated by the Swiss NGO Kinderhilfe Bethlehem -Children’s Relief Bethlehem (CRB), which is based in Luzern, Switzerland.

CBH is the West Bank’s only children’s hospital that offers medical and social services to every child in need, irrespective of origin or religion. Annually, around 50,000 treatments are offered to Palestinian children –up to 18 years of age– in the outpatient department and the inpatient wards of the hospital.

CBH provides treatment for the most basic pediatric illnesses, and for neonatal and congenital disorders. It also caters to patients with hereditary, neurologic and metabolic diseases.

CBH focuses on three pediatric subspecialties –neurology, pulmonology, and neonatal and pediatric intensive care– in accordance to the rising demand for for these services as reflected in the hospital’s strategic plan of 2018-2023.

The majority of our patients come from the southern parts of the West Bank, namely the governorates of Bethlehem and Hebron. According to the Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics (PCBS), over 400,000 children live in the served area; making up 42% of the total population.

عن المستشفى

تأسس مستشفى كاريتاس للأطفال عام 1953 بواسطة الأب السويسري أرنست شنيدرغ في بيت لحم. منذ عام 1963، أصبح  المستشفى تحت إشراف وإدارة مؤسسة إغاثة أطفال بيت لحم، وهي منظمة غير حكومية قائمة في لوتسرن في سويسرا.  

مستشفى كاريتاس للأطفال هو الوحيد في الضفة الغربية الذي يعمل على توفير خدمات طبية واجتماعية للأطفال المحتاجين بغض النظر على أصلهم وديانتهم. ويوفر المستشفى حوالي 50,000 علاج سنوياً للأطفال الفلسطينيين لغاية 18 عام ضمن أقسامه الداخلية وقسم العيادات الخارجية.

يوفر المستشفى خدمات طبية لأمراض الأطفال الشائعة والأطفال حديثي الولادة، كما أنه يلبي احتياجات الأطفال الذين يعانون من اضطرابات عصبية وأيضية وراثية.

يركز المستشفى على ثلاث تخصصات فرعية في طب الأطفال – الأعصاب، الصدرية، العناية المركزة لحديثي الولادة والأطفال – استجابة للطلب المحلي المتزايد على هذه التخصصات، كما هو مبين في خطة المستشفى الاستراتيجية للأعوام 2018-2023.

الأغلبية العظمى من مرضانا يأتون من المناطق الجنوبية للضفة الغربية، على وجه خاص محافظتي بيت لحم والخليل. وفقا للجهاز المركزي للإحصاء الفلسطيني، نحو 400,000 طفل دون سن الثامنة عشر يعيش في المناطق التي تتلقى الخدمات، وتشكل نسبتهم 42% من مجموع السكان.